What is EUSST?


Space Surveillance & Tracking (SST)

The safety and security of the economies, societies, and citizens in Europe rely on space-based applications such as communication, navigation, and observation. Yet, due to the growing complexity of the orbital environment, space-based assets are increasingly at risk from collision with other operational spacecraft or debris. At the same time, objects may re-enter and cause damage on the ground. Mitigating these risks demands the capability to survey and track such objects and to provide this information to a variety of stakeholders.

For this purpose, a Space Surveillance and Tracking (SST) Support Framework was established by the European Commission in 2014 and a SST Consortium of five EU Member States (France, Germany, Italy, Spain, UK) was formed in 2015. “Space Surveillance and Tracking” refers to the capacity to detect, catalogue and predict the movements of space objects orbiting the Earth. Since the beginning of 2016 these Member States and the European Union Satellite Center (EU SatCen) have been working together to develop a European SST capability in a series of EU-funded projects, known as “EUSST”. As of end of 2018, a new set of Agreements is being negotiated with additional EU Member States (Poland, Portugal, Romania).








Scroll to Top

EUSST ©  2019